Taming a dinosaur in Campuestuhan Highland Resort, Talisay City, Negros Occidental

Nowadays, the most popular family getaway in Negros is probably the Campuestuhan Highland Resort. It boasts of a vast themepark full of various attractions. Upon entry you can already guess how much children will enjoy the place; not only little children but also the teenagers and the young at heart. Even from a certain distance you can hear the call of “Kingkong”, that giant gorilla in the movie we have all probably seen before. You can also be part of an Indiana Jones sort of movie scene or act out a scene with a superhero.

Of course who can ignore the equally gigantic dinosaurs. Children just sooo love dinosaurs even if they are mean-looking with all the huge dagger-like sharp teeth, and very long tail! Actually there are also children who are afraid of dinosaurs so they better stay where the superheroes are because the dinos are all over the place!

If you come early there are several swimming pools where children will surely have a great time as long as the heat is not yet intense, otherwise they will surely get sunburned. Furthermore during holidays and peak season it could get really crowded by midday until afternoon. There’s also a huge pool where waves are generated to make guests feel like they’re swimming/bathing in the sea.

Campuestuhan may look like a playground for children with giant toys all over, but it’s also kind of a playground for the adventurous teens and adults alike who would dare to try the hang glider, zipline, cable hamster wheel, do the rope course, just cross the hanging bridge or skybike. I have tried the zipline in other places before so I was not excited about it. I pondered on doing the skybike, but I hesitated. Later when my friends said they will try it I was also convinced that I could do it. But I was really thinking, “will I survive?” At first we said can we just close our eyes when biking while crossing a wire suspended on air between two towers several stories high. I tried to calm down and forced myself to just look ahead and not down. But then I realized it’s not just what you see but more what you feel when the wind blows and the wire starts swinging; it’s like you don’t know if your heart is still beating or it’s beating so rapidly you can no longer feel it. It was definitely an adventure of a lifetime for me, i’m never gonna do it again! And by the way I got a certificate when I reached the other tower so I passed the test, I faced my fear head-on and I was sooo grateful I am still alive!

After the skybike ride, who would still want to do the other rides or skywalks? I know there are others who are more courageous than me, but I already reached my quota for adventure that day.

Accommodations are available so if you wanna do all the adventure courses, it’s better to stay at least overnight and also to be able to go swimming early while walk-in guests have not arrived yet. There is also a restaurant serving many different choices of food and there are kiosks scattered all over for refreshments/snacks. Their accommodations are in cute hobbit houses or Indian tepees and other unique structures, even the restroom looks like a giant shoe house.

If you ask children if they wanna go back and experience it differently when they are bigger, obviously the answer is yes. I wonder if I go back there will I be brave enough to try another heartbeat-stopping and hair-raising adventure? Or may I just take really nice photos of new attractions!

Leave a comment